HOLSWORTHY AFC held their annual presentation evening at Holsworthy Golf Club on Saturday, June 22.

The Magpies’ three senior teams all had encouraging seasons on the whole.

The first team under Ryan Hall once again, finished in mid-table after being transferred from SWPL Premier East to the Cornish West division, while the reserves did enough to survive in the North Devon League Premier Division following promotion. Adam Wosnitzka’s men also beat Lifton 1-0 to win the Launceston Cup for the first time.

The thirds, managed by Ryan Seymour-Smith and Lee Thomas, were in the basement North Devon League Intermediate Two division and although points were hard to come by, it gave young and returning players valuable match time.

The presentation evening saw members enjoy plenty of food and drink before dancing the night away.

The winners of the respective awards were as follows:

Thirds: Supporters’ Player – Charlie Bingham; Clubman – Rhys Streeter; Top Goalscorer – Brad Birch; Players’ Player and Managers’ Player – John O’Mahoney.

Holsworthy Thirds joint managers Lee Thomas (left) and Ryan Seymour-Smith present trophies to Charlie Bingham (left picture) and Brad Birch. Charlie was the Supporters' Player while Brad was top scorer. (David Bingham)

Reserves: Supporters’ Player – Scott Bingham; Clubman – Aidan Davis; Top Goalscorer – Rob Pearce; Players’ Player – Dean Chidley; Manager’s Player – Jago Barriball.

Holsworthy Reserves AFC
Holsworthy boss Adam Wosnitzka and assistant Jordan Davis (right) present two awards. Left is Jago Barriball receiving the Manager's Player, while Scott Bingham was the Supporters' Player. (David Bingham)

Firsts: Supporters’ Player – Jedd Peschke; Clubman – Jedd Peschke; Top Goalscorer – Sam Jago; Players’ Player – Ryan Buckland; Manager’s Player – Ryan Buckland; Young Player – Aidan Slade; 

First team boss Ryan Hall presents awards to midfielders Aidan Slade (left) and Ryan Buckland (right). (David Bingham)

Club Awards: Joint top goalscorers – Rob Pearce and Sam Jago; Clubperson – Shannon Thomas; Eveleigh Trophy – Ween Masters.

Shannon Thomas was presented with the Clubperson of the Year award and is pictured with chairman Steve Lee (left) and vice-chairman Andrew Langman. (David Bingham)

Chairman Steve Lee and vice-chairman Andy Langman also received a gift from the first team captain Jedd Peschke and striker Jacob Nosworthy.

Holsworthy AFC
The left picture shows the joint top goalscorer throughout the club, Rob Pearce (left) and Sam Jago (right), while right has chairman Steve Lee (left), vice-chairman Andrew Langman (right), striker Jacob Nosworthy and club captain Jedd Peschke. Jedd won the Supporters' Player of the Year award as well as the Clubman gong. (David Bingham)

Preparations for the 2024/25 season are already underway with all teams looking to improve on their league positions.

The first team got their pre-season schedule underway on Saturday with a narrow 2-1 defeat to Western League Premier Division outfit St Blazey, with further games to come against Ilfracombe Town (July 13), Torrington (July 16), Altarnun (July 20), Tavistock Development (July 24) and Sidmouth Town (July 27).

The first team start the new season on Saturday, August 3 with the, by their standards, relatively short trip to Camelford (3pm).