Bude Golf Club

Ladies Section

Annodata UK Golf Club Classic (round six) — Sunday, September 1

BUDE travelled to Perranporth for this sixth-round match, but fell to a 4-1 defeat against their fellow Cornish outfit.

However it was a fantastic achievement for the team to reach the last 16. Congratulations were expressed by the club to the team and the caddies for all their hard work.

Medal — Sunday, September 1

Winner: Jo Tilbury — nett 72; Runner-up: Sandra O’Connor — nett 76.

Stableford — Wednesday, September 4

Winner: June Downes — 34pts; Runner-up: Glen Thom — 30pts.

Stableford — Sunday, September 8

Winner: Jo Tilbury — 42pts; Runner-up: Nancy Bailey — 31pts.

Coronation Foursomes Final — Monday, September 9

COLLETTE Burgess and Hana Dabrowski have qualified for next year’s Ricoh Women’s British Open Pro-Am at Royal Troon after winning the national Coronation Foursomes event at Royal and Ancient Golf Club in St Andrews, Scotland.

Burgess (a 11-handicapper) and Dabrowski (a 13-handicapper) were amongst 16 pairs to have made it through the local and qualifying rounds and got the chance to play on the Eden Course.

The competition attracts almost 22,000 women and girls from over 1,100 clubs, showing exactly what a remarkable performance they put in.

The finalists enjoyed two nights at the prestigious five-star Old Course Hotel Golf Resort and Spa.

Collette and Hana were among the first group of the day and had a long wait to see whether their impressive score of 42 points in the handicap stableford foursomes format was enough.

In the end they finished one point clear of the runners-up Jillian Hughes and Heather Milburn (Consett Golf Club in Durham) and two ahead of the Walton Heath partnership of Mary O’Sullivan and Marion Brigden.

A club spokesperson said: “We are so proud of what Collette and Hana have achieved. A win on the Eden Course at St Andrews in the grand final of the Coronation Foursomes! They continue to fly the flag for Bude ladies. This win is the first in the history of the golf club.”

Committee Cup — Wednesday, September 11

Winner: Glen Thom — 34pts; Runner-up: Shirley Percy — 31pts.

Triangle — Saturday, September 21

The second-round of this three-club competition was played at Launceston with Bude winning by ten points, to extend their overall advantage to 55 with the final event to come.

The final scores saw Bude get 201, Okehampton, 191 and Launceston, 167.

Stableford — Sunday, September 29

Winner: Collette Burgess — 33pts.

Holsworthy Golf Club

Ladies Section

Daily Mail Foursomes — Tuesday, September 24

Winners: Ely Walmsley and Denise Baggott — 35pts; Runners-up: Jean Yeo and Carol Rockey — 31pts; 3rd: Gill Lark and Liz Underwood — 27pts.

Sandra Hawkett was the well deserved winner of the Cousins Shield, played in inclement weather on Tuesday, October 1, which was also the same day that the October stableford was played.

Winner: Denise Baggott — 30pts; Runner-up: Carol Rockey — 29pts (c/b); 3rd: Gill Lark — 29pts.

Launceston Golf Club

Ladies Section

FOUR Launceston members played in the South West Ladies Foursomes event at Chippenham in Wiltshire last Thursday (October 3), and finished in the prizes.

Playing in pairs, Cath Hopkins and Avril Starling were fifth with a score of 77.5, while Suzanne Courtenay and Jan Harrison were sixth on 79.5.

St Enodoc’s Penny Cartwright and Mrs CE Hume-Kendall finished fourth, on countback from Hopkins and Starling.

Ladies Medal 8 — Thursday, October 3

THE three division winners in this week’s ladies medal were Belinda McSherry, Irene Bessell and Josie Whitfield.

Men’s Section

Chy Keres Fundraising Day — Saturday, September 28

Winners: David Bunclark, Joe Hull and Adrian Cram — 47pts; Runners-up: Steve Greenaway, Steve Davey and Gary Luxton — 47pts; 3rd: Wayne Voden, Shane Iles and Dick Knight — 46pts.

Daily Mail Foursomes Qualifier — Sunday, September 29

Winners: Dan Sloman and Kevin Dickinson — 72.5; Runners-up: Baron Dorgan and Ian Huggins — 73; 3rd: Steve Ham and Mark Garland — 75.

Men’s Autumn Open — Friday, October 4

THIS was the club’s final ‘Open’ of the year and is the format of two scores to count from four.

Winners: John Jamison, Simon Martin, Andrew Pelling and Phil Bott — 81pts; Runners-up: Steve Ham, Roger Kellow, Matt Sharman and Baron Dorgan — 77pts.